Listing of Chiefs of the Commission and Tribunals

Before October 1, 2009, the Chief of the Commission and Tribunals was referred to as the Chief Commissioner.

  • Michael Gottheil (August 2018 - current)
  • William D. McFetridge, Q.C. (Acting) (August 2017-August 2018)
  • Mr. Robert A. Philp, Queen's Counsel (July 1, 2014-June 30, 2017)
  • Honourable David Blair Mason, Q.C.  (2009-2014)
  • Brenda F. Scragg (Acting)  (2008-2009)
  • Charlach Mackintosh  (1994-2008)
  • Jack O'Neil, CC  (1993-1994)
  • Fil B. Fraser, CM  (1989-1992)
  • Stan Scudder  (1986-1989)
  • Marlene Antonio  (1981-1986)
  • Bob Lundrigan  (1979-1981)
  • Dr. Max Wyman  (1973-1979)

Revised: October 9, 2018



The Alberta Human Rights Commission is an independent commission of the Government of Alberta.

Due to confidentiality concerns, the Commission cannot reply to inquiries about specific situations by email. Please call the Commission's Confidential Inquiry Line if you have a specific question.

You can access information about making FOIP requests for records held by the Commission on our Contact us page.

The Commission will make publications available in accessible formats upon request for people with disabilities who do not read conventional print.