Message de Michael Gottheil,

Chief of the Commission and Tribunals de la

Alberta Human Rights Commission

(le 16 février 2019)
Mois de l’histoire des Noirs
Discours d’ouverture du Dialogue pour agir contre le racisme présenté par l’Alliance Jeunesse-Famille de l’Alberta Society au Campus Saint-Jean d’Edmonton
« Il me fait grand plaisir, et cela est vraiment un honneur pour moi, de vous saluer au nom de la Alberta Human Rights Commission. La commission soutient depuis de nombreuses années la communauté noire de l’Alberta, y compris des projets et des programmes lancés par des organismes africains-albertains. Les effets de ces projets ont aidé à bâtir une forte présence pour les Noirs et les jeunes Franco-Africains de notre province. C’est avec impatience que nous attendons de développer ces relations.
Une de mes citations préférées fut inventée par Ursula Franklin, la regrettée physicienne et militante de justice sociale canadienne. Elle dit, « Une société juste est comme un repas-partage. Tout le monde apporte quelque chose, tout le monde obtient quelque chose. » J’adore cette métaphore. Cela montre bien la valeur et la richesse de la diversité. Cela témoigne de notre responsabilité collective envers notre collectivité et envers les uns les autres. En outre, cela témoigne de la force d’une société qui profite de son histoire et sa population diverses.
Je crois sincèrement que cette image reflète le cœur de la société albertaine. De fait, il est écrit dans le préambule de la Human Rights Act (la loi sur les droits de la personne):
ATTENDU QUE le multiculturalisme décrit la composition raciale et
culturelle diverse de la société albertaine et son importance est
reconnue en Alberta comme étant un des principes fondamentaux ainsi
qu’une question de politique publique; et
ATTENDU qu’il est reconnu en Alberta comme un principe fondamental
et une question de politique publique  que tous les Albertains devraient partager
une conscience et une appréciation de la composition raciale et
culturelle diverse de la société et que la richesse de la vie en Alberta est
accrue grâce au partage de cette diversité;
Pourtant, il y a de nombreux Albertains et des Autochtones dont les ancêtres habitent ces terres depuis des dizaines de milliers d’années qui ne se sentent pas toujours chez eux, qui se demandent si leur histoire et leurs identités sont véritablement appréciées et reconnues comme faisant partie de la force de l’Alberta. 
Il s’agit là d’une chose que nous devons reconnaître et aborder.
J’ai toujours eu l’impression que les incidents de discours haineux ne sont pas uniquement troublants et déplaisants mais également qu’ils communiquent des messages sous-jacents non équivoques. Ils disent à la cible de cette haine: « Vous ne faites pas partie de notre groupe, vous êtes différent et votre différence n’est pas la bienvenue ici. » Ils disent: « Vous pouvez croire que notre communauté est bâtie sur des principes de liberté, d’égalité et de dignité humaine mais ces principes ne s’appliquent pas à vous. Ils ne s’appliquent qu’à nous et je vous rappelle que vous n’êtes pas des nôtres. »
Or, cela est faux, en fait et en droit, mais ces paroles et ces attitudes peuvent pousser les gens à s’effaroucher à l’idée de dire qui ils sont, d’où ils sont originaires et de contribuer à la communauté. Ainsi, nous souffrons tous. Nous sommes tous affaiblis. Nous sommes tous appauvris.
Alors, en cette journée où nous nous rassemblons afin de célébrer la diversité et les contributions de la communauté noire de l’Alberta, rappelez-vous les paroles d’Ursula Franklin, rappelez-vous le préambule de la loi Alberta Human Rights Act et rappelez-vous qu’il est reconnu, comme étant une question de politique publique, que la richesse de la vie en Alberta est accrue grâce au partage de notre riche diversité culturelle et raciale.
Merci. »   

The Alberta Human Rights Commission is an independent commission of the Government of Alberta.

Due to confidentiality concerns, the Commission cannot reply to complaints of discrimination by email. Please contact the Commission by phone or regular mail if you have a specific complaint.

You can access information about making FOIP requests for records held by the Commission on our Contact us page.

The Commission will make publications available in accessible formats upon request for people with disabilities who do not read conventional print.

Message from Michael Gottheil,

Chief of the Commission and Tribunals, Alberta Human Rights Commission

(February 16, 2019)
Black History Month
Opening remarks at the Dialogue for Taking Action Against Racism hosted by Alliance Jeunesse-Famille de l’Alberta Society at the Campus Saint-Jean, Edmonton
“It gives me great pleasure, and it is truly an honour to bring greetings on behalf of the Alberta Human Rights Commission. The Commission has a long tradition of supporting the Black community in Alberta, including projects and programs launched by African-Albertan organizations. The impact of those projects has helped to build a strong presence for Black and Franco-African youth in our province. We look forward to continuing these relationships.

One of my favorite quotes was coined by Ursula Franklin, the late Canadian physicist and social justice activist. She said, “A just society is like a pot-luck dinner. Everyone brings something, everyone gets something.” I love that metaphor. It speaks to the value and richness of diversity. It speaks to our collective responsibility to our community and to one another. And it speaks to the strength of a society that embraces its diverse history and citizenry.

I truly believe that this image reflects the core of Alberta society. In fact, the preamble to the Alberta Human Rights Act states:
WHEREAS multiculturalism describes the diverse racial and
cultural composition of Alberta society and its importance is
recognized in Alberta as a fundamental principle and a matter of
public policy; and
WHEREAS it is recognized in Alberta as a fundamental principle
and as a matter of public policy that all Albertans should share in
an awareness and appreciation of the diverse racial and cultural
composition of society and that the richness of life in Alberta is
enhanced by sharing that diversity;
Yet, there are many Albertans, and Indigenous people whose ancestors have lived on these lands for tens of thousands of years, who do not always feel at home, who question whether their history and identities are truly valued, and are recognized as part of the strength of Alberta. 

This is something we must acknowledge and address.
It has always struck me that incidents of hate speech are not just disturbing and distasteful. They send strong underlying messages. They say to the target of the hatred that, “you are not part of us, you are different, and your difference is not welcome here.” It says, “You might think our community is built on principles of freedom, equality and human dignity, but those principles don’t apply to you. They only apply to us, and remember, you are not one of us.”
Now, that is wrong, in fact and in law, but those words and attitudes can make people shy away from expressing who they are, where they come from, and contributing to the community. 
And in this way, we all suffer.  We are all weaker; we are all poorer.
So, on this day when we come together to celebrate the diversity and contributions of Alberta’s Black community, remember the words of Ursula Franklin, remember the preamble to the Alberta Human Rights Act, and remember that it is recognized, as a matter of public policy, that the richness of life in Alberta is enhanced by sharing our rich cultural and racial diversity.

Thank you.” 
 

The Alberta Human Rights Commission is an independent commission of the Government of Alberta.

Due to confidentiality concerns, the Commission cannot reply to complaints of discrimination by email. Please contact the Commission by phone or regular mail if you have a specific complaint.

You can access information about making FOIP requests for records held by the Commission on our Contact us page.

The Commission will make publications available in accessible formats upon request for people with disabilities who do not read conventional print.